Knowledgebase: FileCloud
FileCloud File Locking Feature
Posted by Jay Allred on 19 June 2015 12:34 PM

Bt default, all FileCloud accounts have the file locking feature enabled. Below is information on how to utilize the file locking feature...

Locking Overview

Locking is available to both files and folder and  is to signify that you are actively using that file or folder.

When a file or folder is locked 

  • A lock icon will be shown in the file listing
  • The owner of the lock will also be shown in the details panel on the right hand side
  • The owner of the lock has full access to that file or folder and can modify it
  • Admin can always override a lock using the admin panel
  • A lock can be setup to prevent reads by other user. In that case other users cannot download or view the locked file or folder

The following table shows the behavior depending on the type of lock

Lock with read allowed Access by lock owner Access by others
Yes Full access to the file is available. Share/Sync/Edit/Deletes allowed Only read is allowed. No modification is allowed
No Full access to the file is available. Share/Sync/Edit/Deletes allowed No access is provided . All access using all clients are blocked.

Locking a File or Folder

To lock a file or folder,

  • Select the file or folder
  • In the "More" drop down menu, select the "Lock
  • In the popup, 
    • Selecting "Prevent others from downloading this while locked" will prevent all reads as well as writes to the file  or folder. This is very restrictive in its behavior. If it is not selected, then other users can view file/folder content but not modify it
    • A custom lock expiration can be set (in days)  If a expiration is set, then the file or folder will be automatically unlocked after that date.
  • A message will indicate if the lock is successful or not and a lock icon will appear. selecting the file or folder will also show the owner of the lock as well as the type of lock (Read allowed or not)

At this point, all clients (Web Application, Cloud Drive, Cloud Sync, Mobile clients, WebDAV) will all be subject to the lock restrictions (Only the owner access using these clients is allowed).

Viewing Locked Files and Folders

To view all locks in the system via the web browser 

  • Click on the user account drop down button
  • Click on "Show Locks"

Unlocking a file or folder

Once a file or folder is locked, it can be unlocked only by the owner of lock or by administrator. 

To unlock as the lock owner,

  • Navigate to the page containing the file or folder
  • Select the file or folder
  • Under the "More" drop down menu, select "Unlock"

It can also be using the unlock option in the "Locked Files and Folder" panel (See previous section)

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

BizCom Web Services, Inc., Copyright© 2015, All Rights Reserved  -  Main: (866) 253-4316 | Fax: (919) 855-8856 | sales@bizcomweb.com